INFLUINS - geoscientific excellence


(copyright: MMZ FSU Jena, A. Habisreuther & INFLUINS team)

INFLUINS is a major research project examining the movement of fluids (and associated gases) below ground. It focuses on the region between the uppermost soil horizon down to groundwater at depths of several kilometres. The use of the phrase "integrated fluid dynamics" in the name of the project underlines our interest in the relationship between near surface and deeper fluid and material flows. About 50 scientists from the university of Jena and partner institutions work together from fields spanning geology, hydrogeology, geophysics, mineralogy/geochemistry and climatology (Partners). INFLUINS is financially supported by the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and the Ministry of Culture of the state of Thuringen. The giant "open air Geolaboratory" in which we carry out our research is the Thuringian Basin.

The Thuringian Basin covers most of Thuringen. It is bordered in the north by the Harz mountains, the south by the Thuringian Forest and the east by the Thuringian slate belt. The basin has the form of a broad, flat saucer. The largest deposits are of Triassic age - the "Bundsandstein", Muschelkalk and Keuper. The present day basin geometry developed 80 million years ago, as the Thuringian basin began to subside, whilst the surrounding regions were squeezed together. This caused faults and fault zones to develop within the basin, which offset, tilted and sometimes folded the geological units.


Important data from the Thuringian Basin were gained through three major campaigns: seismic reflection (2011), survey flight with SQUID magnetometer (2012 and 2013), and research drilling (summer 2013). Measurements and the drill cores reveal further information about the interior of the Earth. With the research drilling we aim to get further insights into aquifer flows, the temperature gradient, and subsurface microbial components, among others. INFLUINS also investigates the possibility for commercial utilizations, because sedimentary basins have a high potential to provide renewable energy and for storing of fluids and heat. Nevertheless, no commercial utilization is planned for the research drilling.


A film shows INFLUINS, its aims, the campaigns and the insights we seek:

INFLUINS film (Duration 17:31 min.)

INFLUINS - geowissenschaftliche Spitzenforschung


(Quelle: MMZ der FSU Jena, A. Habisreuther & INFLUINS-Team)

INFLUINS ist ein großes Forschungsvorhaben, das die Bewegung von Fluiden, also Flüssigkeiten und Gasen, im Untergrund untersucht. Der Blick geht dabei von den obersten Bodenhorizonten bis zu Grundwasserleitern in einigen Kilometern Tiefe. Die Bezeichnung "Integrierte Fluiddynamik" im Projektnamen zeigt, dass uns besonders das Zusammenwirken der oberflächennahen und tiefen Fluid- und Stoffströme interessiert. Insgesamt 12 Teilprojekte erarbeiten Einblicke in die Fluide und die unterschiedlich durchlässigen Gesteine des Untergrundes. In den Fachgebieten Geologie, Hydrogeologie, Geophysik, Mineralogie/Geochemie und Klimatologie kooperieren rund 50 Wissenschaftler/innen der Universität Jena sowie von Partnerinstituten und -unternehmen. INFLUINS wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und vom Thüringer Kultusministerium gefördert. Das große "Freiluft-Geolabor", in dem wir unsere Untersuchungen durchführen, ist das Thüringer Becken.

Das Thüringer Becken nimmt den größten Teil Thüringens ein. Es wird im Norden,  Süden und Osten von Harz, Thüringer Wald und Thüringer Schiefergebirge eingerahmt. Sein geologischer Bau ist der einer weiten, flachen Schüssel. Den größten Raum nehmen die Gesteine der Trias ein: Buntsandstein, Muschelkalk und Keuper. Die heutige Beckenform entstand vor etwa 80 Millionen Jahren, als sich das Thüringer Becken senkte, während die umliegenden Gebiete emporgepresst wurden. Im Becken entstanden dabei Bruchzonen, an denen die Gesteine gegeneinander versetzt, gekippt und manchmal gefaltet wurden.

Wichtige Daten zum Thüringer Becken wurden durch drei große Messkampagnen in INFLUINS gewonnen: Reflexionsseismik (2011), Befliegungen mit einem Squidmagnetometer (2012 und 2013) und das Abteufen einer Forschungsbohrung (Sommer 2013). Über den Verlauf der Forschungsbohrung INFLUINS, die unter dem Namen Erfurt 1/2012 registriert wurde, können Sie sich hier informieren: Bohrungsablauf. Die gewonnenen  Bohrkerne sowie hydrogeologische und geophysikalische Messungen bilden das Herzstück von INFLUINS und geben weitere Geheimnisse aus dem Erdinneren preis. Sedimentbecken verfügen über ein großes Potenzial als regenerative Energielieferanten und Speicherstätte für Fluide oder Wärme, in INFLUINS werden auch wirtschaftliche Nutzungsmöglichkeiten betrachtet.


In einem Film berichten wir über INFLUINS, die Ziele, die Messkampagnen und die angestrebten Erkenntnisse:

INFLUINS-Film (Dauer 17:31 min.)